Pan Seared Oven Roasted Chilean Sea Bass in Saffron Tomato Sauce, Creamed Spinach and Anna Potatoes

TADA! This is my fish and seafood presentation in ISCAHM where I used the tomato sauce from the previous post.

This Chilean sea bass recipe is a complete meal with some starch and vegetable sidings. We were required to make a main course so this is what I came up with.

So how did I make this? First, I needed an oven so I went back to my sister’s place like before.

I brought the stuff from the pantry in my pantry to go!

First, I scaled the fish as seen in the cover picture. I was actually surprised it wasn’t scaled yet. Then, I portioned it and marinated it with some lemon juice and some chopped dill.

I set it aside inside the fridge for later use.

For the spinach, I prepared a seasoned blanching liquid.

Blanched it.

Shocked in ice and set aside.

Now, for the potatoes. Normally, Anna potatoes/Pommes Anna are served as wedges but I served it in small sizes as a whole. Chef Gerd said that it looked more like Pommes Galette. What do you guys think?

Cut the potatoes thinly. I forgot the name of the cut but it measures 2mm. Then dry it with paper towels.

Butter your pan for the potatoes.

Align the potatoes in a circular way.

Season it.

Add around this much more butter.

Apply pressure for it to stick. Then place it in the oven.

Now, while the potato is in the oven, I started cooking the fish.

Sear the fillets on both sides and season it. I think I have to start buying some volraths.

Place it in the oven.

For the creamed spinach, just saute the blanched spinach in oil then add cream. Don’t mind the corn.

There, lastly, my sauce is saffron infused. What I actually did was, while making the tomato sauce, I have already infused it with the saffron beforehand. To do that, prepare warm water and just a pinch of saffron. Let it mix together.

I added it when I also added the herbs.

Saffron is a tricky spice so normally, you would want to let it infuse for a day hence the preparation of the sauce a day in advance.

Anyhow, remove the Anna potatoes by inverting it into another plate.

Then plate everything.

Sauce.

Potatoes.

Spinach.

BAAIIYYM!

So why did I make this for the presentation? Well, first of all, I like Chilean Sea Bass because it is a forgiving fish and it tastes absolutely good even if it was purchased frozen. Second, I asked one of the chefs if i could do this or do that and he told me to stick with classical cooking. So there! Lastly, I used the tomato sauce to balance the richness of the whole dish.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Hersheyyyyyy favorite ko Sea Bass wahhhhh balik na ko dyan then cook for us :))

    Reply

  2. Hershey, this looks delish! You make it seem so easy to cook Iron Chef-looking dishes. 😀

    Reply

  3. Posted by sheila's ditsi on April 26, 2010 at 10:01 am

    if you need an oven, i have an oven too!!!!! heheh you can use it for free as long as i eat your yummy creations.

    you still need to improve on your photography skills.. >:-)

    i think the sea bass looks a little charred on the top.. just my observation .. but still , it looks yummy!

    Reply

  4. Hershey, we made this last night and it was unbelievable. Thank you! We will be adding this to our favorites list. The only thing we did different was the garlic. We did a sauteed spinach and galic instead of the creamed but it was excellent!

    Reply

Leave a comment