Meltique Beef in Mushroom Cream Sauce

Everytime I need to fill-up my pantry or thinking to buy some random stuffs to cook, I go to Rustan’s Supermarket! Rustan’s has a great variety of ingredients and wonderful choices for any grocer out there! *though a bit more expensive that any other supermarkets out there*

So, everytime I go to their meat section, I always see this beef that had a unique marbling! I was both amazed and curious because the marbling of the meat seemed far different from normal ones! I asked their butcher what it was and they said it was meltique!

Rustan’s offers Australian beef and meltique is like a one of their high-end kind of beef. If you want to know more about their beef, you can go to their website. They boast their larding technique and that gave me a good understanding why their marbling looked like what it is! 🙂

So I made a simple steak recipe that calls for a mushroom sauce! 😀

First, chop up some garlic, parsley and the button mushroom. When buying mushrooms, at least the fresh ones, you do not have to clean it! Moreover, mushrooms are one of the ingredients that is better fresh than canned 😀

Now, heat up the pan and add some butter! Butter!! 🙂

Pan roast the meat to medium rare 🙂

Now, time for the sauce, on the same pan, add the garlic and MORE butter! 😀

Then, add in the mushrooms yummm…

Give it a quick saute then de-glaze the pan with some white wine!

Let it reduce! Kitchen is now starting to really smell good 😀

Then add some cream 😉

Then serve it with some parsley!

Thoughts

The meat was tender, but I think I still prefer a USDA choice grade steak! Moreover, the flavor of the beef was really strong, it really gave me a feel that it came from an Australian cattle. Australian cattles give this distinct beefy flavor that I always taste. I think they are grass fed, are they?

Sauce was good! I like the chunkiness of my sauce and the wine gave a sharp note on the sauce. 🙂 Overall, am pretty happy while eating this 🙂

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sheila's ditsi on January 28, 2010 at 8:56 am

    oh my! so yummy!!! when will you cook at my kitchen???!!

    Reply

  2. Hey very nice blog!!….I’m an instant fan, I have bookmarked you and I’ll be checking back on a regular….See ya

    Reply

Leave a Reply

