Make Your Own Bacon – An Easy Home Made Bacon Recipe

If you have read my about page, I have stated that I practice charcuterie at a professional level. With that in mind, I thought of sharing my professional knowledge to you guys and I realized that this is a good start for one to practice charcuterie at home!

Making your own bacon at home is really easy! You just have to cure it and everything is done! 🙂 Curing your own bacon is easy, the key ingredient here is salt. To be more specific, curing salt! This bacon version is one of the simplest there are, it is technically a brown sugar bacon! Since I am from the Philippines, am pretty sure my readers here will accept this kind of flavor profile. 🙂

So here are the ingredients.

If you look at the background of the picture, it seems that I am in an environment that is not normally shot! Well, I am technically in my office/plant and I feel more comfortable making the bacon here. *since all ingredients are also here*.

Moving on, first, create a basic dry cure. It is better weighed. If you want the exact recipe for this home made bacon, email me at hershey_ang@yahoo.com with the subject head “Home Made Bacon”. I will send you the exact recipe within 48 hours. 🙂 Recipe needs to be exact so that you won’t have too much curing salt in it.

Mix all the ingredients for the basic cure.

Now, prepare your pork belly slab, make sure it doesn’t have any bones in it!

Now, for the real mixture of the pork belly, get some basic dry cure mixture and add some brown sugar. Mix the whole mixture.

Incorporate the brown sugar mixture with the pork belly!

Mix all the mixture on all sides of the pork belly! 😀

Store it in an air tight container or a zip lock bag and throw it in the fridge. Let it sit for 7 days in the fridge and turn it over every other day! Yes, that is pretty long, but look! Curing your own bacon is easy! 😀

When the 7th day has arrived, prepare your pork belly again. Observe that you will have plenty of water their since the salt has extracted the moisture from the pork belly.

Remove it from the container.

Prepare your bacon for roasting/smoking, in my case, I hooked the pork belly!

Then let it roast/smoke for 2 hours at 200F.

When you are done, take a good look first at your home made bacon! It is gorgeous!

Look at the color! You will only achieve this color if you added some curing salt, and look at that fat! Oh so heavenly! 😀

Now, prepare your full slab again on your table.

Cut off the skin of the bacon.

All the way through of course. 😉

Lastly, in my case, take it home and enjoy a piece of it, put it in the frying pan YUM! 😀 You now have your own home made bacon! 😉 Easy eh?

This bacon is really good. It is far different from the commercial ones 😀 I love my job lolz! 😉 Let me repeat again, if you want the exact recipe for the curing mix of the bacon, email me at hershey_ang@yahoo.com with the subject head “Home Made Bacon”. 😀

8 responses to this post.

  1. I can feel the enthusiasm!

    Reply

  2. […] you have read my home made bacon post, then you would have read that I trimmed the pork belly. What better way to deal with the pork […]

    Reply

  3. i want the recipe =) will email you now.

    Reply

  4. […] Since we have a smoke house, we can also make bacon […]

    Reply

  5. Posted by heidi on January 19, 2011 at 6:52 am

    Please include me in your mailing list. thanks

    Reply

  6. Posted by heidi on January 19, 2011 at 6:52 am

    please include me in your mailing list

    Reply

Leave a Reply

