Seviche or Ceviche?

I really don’t know what’s the right spelling for this dish. There is one thing I know though; I like the simplicity of this dish.

Ingredients are above. I had some garlic, shallots, scallions, ginger lemon, and good tuna. The difficult part for me here was peeling the lemon since I didn’t have any zester at that time so I peeled it with a knife.

To be honest, I was sort of eating healthy before so there was a time that all I ate was sashimi.

I got bored so I made some seviche/ceviche. Everything was just cutting and squeezing the lemon juice.

Julienne, macedoine, and brunoise.

Leave it for 15 mins then it’s done! It’s that simple.

We actually have a Filipino version of seviche/ceviche. It is called kilawin. Usually, it is white fish soaked in vinegar for at least a whole day.

Thoughts:

I like the texture of the tuna. Flavor profile is like fusion I think. Ginger, scallions, and lemon juice perhaps? It lacked color for me. Maybe some bell pepper could have helped it.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Yummy-licious!

    Hershey, where can we buy the freshest tuna and salmon for cerviche? Will try this simple recipe soon. 😉

    Reply

    • Hey Jhoey! Thanks for dropping by, I buy it from a Japanese purveyor. I will blog about him soon too but for the moment, you can find him in Cartimar. The name of the stall is Uozumi

      Reply

Leave a comment