Korean Beef Stew

It has been a while since I last made a cooking entry so here I am again, posting a hearty comforting dish for you guys. This post is actually long overdue because I have already made this dish since New Year.

Every year, it has been a tradition that we celebrate Aunt Alice’s birthday and it falls on January 1. This year, she asked me to make her 2 dishes for her birthday. I have to cook at least 5 kgs of meat. That’s the most I have ever done so far in this blog.

So here is a picture of the ingredients.

I chose two kinds of beef for this dish. I bought a USDA choice grade boneless short rib and a local one with bones. Why is that? Well, I like the marbling of the American beef and short ribs give the most flavor. American beef is usually grain fed thus giving better marbling to the meat but it is the grass fed cows that are the ones that give that robust beefy flavor to the meat. It has less marbling but the flavors are pretty dense. What I did was use 30% local beef and 70% USDA choice grade.

Anyhow, here are the aromatics. I used garlic, bird’s eye chili, and cilantro/coriander. I like coriander since it gives that very Asian flavor that you usually have in fresh spring rolls or in Vietnamese cuisine. Yum!

Prepare the beef. I cut it into smaller chunks.

Gorgeous marbling eh? But of course, it can’t beat what I have eaten before.

Prepare the local beef next.

Now, sear them up.

After searing everything on all sides, set them aside. Now, it’s time for the aromatics.

When they are quite brown, remove them from the pan. Now, get a casserole and add some mirin.

Flambe.

Add some Japanese soy and water.

Aromatics.

Lastly, BEEF! Yum!

Braise it at a low temperature. Do not let it boil. Please, that is a big sin.

After hours of braising, let it cool then place it in the fridge. Let the beef absorb the sauce. Meat absorbs sauce when it is cooler.

On the next day, when I didn’t have time to take pictures, toast some sesame oil, use it as a garnish, and add some sesame oil to to finish. Garnish it also with some chopped cilantro.

Thoughts:

This is a good dish for most people since it is practically comfort food. It was well received and it is really a dish that resonates with most Filipinos since it goes well with rice.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Wow! I like the blog. Can you post the recipe too! I’d like to make this particular dish & try it myself. Looking forward to more of your food blog. Thanks Hershey!

    Reply

    • Hey nina! thanks for the compliment πŸ˜€ uhmm…. I don’t have measurements since most of the time, the way I cook is more of add and taste 😦 I just stated what ingredients you need but I don’t have the exact measurements 😦 try the recipe without measurements just by tasting and adjusting πŸ™‚

      Reply

  2. Posted by sheila's ditsi on January 28, 2010 at 8:52 am

    oh my! i missed this dish coz i wasn’t able to attend the new year’s binggo! 😦

    Reply

  3. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Maria Celia Gentile, Maria Celia Gentile. Maria Celia Gentile said: Korean Beef Stew Β« Food Journal of Hershey: http://url4.eu/1F2IZ […]

    Reply

  4. Posted by gourmandtales on February 14, 2010 at 1:37 am

    where do u buy ur beef?

    Reply

    • hi πŸ˜€ I have my own supplier πŸ™‚ they only do business to business transactions. I currently in the food industry that’s why I have access to their products πŸ™‚

      Reply

Leave a Reply

