Sage Brined Pork Loin with Juniper Berries

I bought some juniper berries recently andย I was really surprised with the flavor. It had a sweet citrus kick in it and it gives this savory/gamey aroma which I really loved. With that in mind, I was supposed to make some sort of stew but thought why not try something else then? So there I was; I brined a loin of pork with some sage and of course, juniper berries.

What I like about brining is that with just a simple salt solution, the texture and flavor of the meat transforms into a whole new dimension. It has something to do with the salt penetrating the muscles of the meat to give more taste and fluid inside the meat thus making it juicier.

What I did was I made a 3% brine solution for this pork loin. That’s 30 grams of salt for every liter of water.

Here are the ingredients.

What I did was pretty simple. With the brine, I just mixed in all the ingredients namely pepper, dried sage, garlic cloves, sugar, bay leaf, and the juniper berries.

Now, brine the pork loin inside a container and refrigerate. I used a ziplock bag in my case. I brined it for around 12 hours.

After 12 hours, I removed the pork loin from the ziplock bag.

Using an excellent knife, I cut up the pork loin into thick slices.

Then, I buttered my frying pan.

Pan-roasted the loin.

I created a simple super fast pork stock while pan-roasting the loin.

Yummy sauce from the stock! I also added some of the brining liquid.

I forgot to take a picture of it. But no worries, I took a picture after eating it. Tada!

Thoughts:

I love the sage! It is like eating some breakfast sausage in the form of a loin. I think I added too much sage such that it overpowered the juniper berries. Oh well.

Anyhow, like I have said earlier, this was going to be a pretty juicy loin. You can taste every bite that gives you a burst of juiciness oozing out of the pork. If I am not mistaken, brining adds 10% more water to meat so it really becomes more succulent and juicy.

Next time, I really have to make a dish that will give the juniper berries the attention it deserves. By the way, my culinary class starts this week. I hope I can kick some ass.

7 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Sheena on January 18, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    good luck! tell me about it! ๐Ÿ˜€ yey!

    Reply

  2. Kick some ass? You’re teaching?

    Reply

  3. The dish looks yummy. ๐Ÿ˜€

    Reply

  4. […] and spices are there like a za’atar mixture, sweet paprika or the juniper berries I used before and it is located in Market Market in the Fort […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

