Mesa – Eating Filipino Food at Greenbelt

I usually walk along Greenbelt on weeknights right after my night class at AIM. So often than not, Mesa tickles my mind because it is always packed full of people. I mean, for a weeknight, they are doing really really well compared to other restaurants. It offers Filipino dishes with lots of grilled entries. With that in mind, I tried Mesa one night right after my sister, Clark and I watched 2012! πŸ˜€ It was already late so we ordered light dishes.

We ordered two appetizers. The first one to arrive was the fried catfish flakes with green mangoes and bird’s eye chili.

This is also the front picture of my post. This dish had a great combination! I like the rusty texture that it gives paired with the sourness of the mangoes! On top of that, the bird’s eye chili gave a good ‘burst’ of kick when you eat the thing as a whole! This gives you a feel of ‘bursting’ sharp flavor with a dry rusty texture. I think the contrast of flavor to texture was spot on for me! πŸ˜€

Next came the second appetizer which was baked mussels with cheese.

I like this dish. It is simple and straight forward. What I really liked about this dish is the quality of mussels. You can feel the clean flavor of mussels without any hint of earthly texture nor flavor!

We ordered to kinds of protein. One is grilled blue marlin and the other was their pork barbecue. I was thinking of ordering their pork adobo or their crispy pata but they were too heavy for us already!

I liked the sharp flavor of their pork barbecue! I like the nice little kick of flavor of their basting sauce. So often than not, the pork barbecue you find here in the Philippines is usually packed with dense sweet flavor which is kinda mundane for me.

I was a bit disappointed with the flavor profile of their blue marlin. 😦 I was thinking they were going to serve me some sort of salty or savory fish, instead; it had the same flavor as their pork barbecue! The quality of the fish is really good though. The cooking was also done well, it wasn’t dry and the texture of the flakes had a good bite to it! I just couldn’t agree with their flavor for that fish dish. 😦

But at the end of the day, I will be going back! The restaurant has good value for money, no wonder it is packed full of people even during weeknights. Moreover, I like the quality of their food. I think I will be trying their lechon sometime in the future and add it in my lechon post πŸ˜€

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sheila's ditsi on December 15, 2009 at 2:40 am

    looks interesting. i might try that out when i’m in greenbelt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

