Broiled Garlic Herb Chicken with Simple Gravy

I was busy with my work the other day so I thought of making something easy and simple! I was actually thinking of making a roast herb chicken or a butter baked chicken but I didn’t have any oven at that time! With that huge constraint, I was left with my humble broiler again 😀

This garlic herb chicken recipe is a quick and easy chicken recipe! One can do it really fast and easy!

Here are the ingredients:

First, cut-up some mirepoix. We will be making some quick brown vegetable stock like before so I won’t be elaborate on doing it again. Just check the link here on how to make the quick brown vegetable stock!

Throw them in the a saucepan and create the quick brown vegetable stock!

Now, let’s go with the garlic herb butter! Get some butter and soften it to room temperature!

Chop up some fresh parsley, fresh rosemary and some garlic. This is the key ingredient here! FRESH HERBS! Nothing can ever beat FRESH HERBS! These are God given gifts that must be used friends 😀

Throw them with the butter!

Mix well! 🙂

When this is done, rub the garlic herb butter on the chicken and put some beneath their skin! This is going to be butterlicious! 😀

When that is done, season it with salt and pepper and throw in the broiler! Now, you can do anything that you need while the stock simmers and the chicken cooks!

Tick…. tock…. tick…. tock….

When the chicken is done, let is rest and reserve these drippings from the broiler!

Time to make the sauce! Pour in some of the drippings into a pan! 🙂

Add in flour to make the roux! You can see me made them before like here, here and here! So don’t be surprise if I use them again in the future!

Add in the quick brown vegetable stock bit by bit to make the sauce. 🙂

Let it boil to reach the thickening power of the roux!

Plate! 😀

Thoughts

If there is something that I will be looking forward to in my upcoming culinary education, it is to be consistent with my sauce’s consistency! There were lumps with my sauce that I really abhorred! I keep on forgetting to make the proper consistency of the sauce. I always have lumps because the temperature of the roux is too high! The best consistency of the sauce that I have done EVER here in my blog was my Chicken ala Orange. Since then, most roux based sauces where a bit lumpy! 😦

On the brighter side, I like the flavor profile. It was rich and clean! I really love rosemary with the chicken. It gives this woodsy flavor that makes you feel that you are in the mountains. Moreso, the parsley gave it an even better flavor to it!

Lastly, the good thing about this dish is that you can leave it alone while it cooks *except in the sauce making part*. It is also, as I have said earlier, a quick and easy chicken recipe;and if you really do not have the time to make the sauce, just broil or roast it with the garlic herb butter without serving the sauce and you’ll be fine 🙂

5 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by sheila's ditsi on December 8, 2009 at 5:04 am

    im curious how much calorie this meal has? is there an alternative ingredient for butter? i don’t like putting butter in my dishes..

    Reply

  2. Posted by sheila's ditsi on December 8, 2009 at 5:07 am

    i was thinking maybe olive oil? can i use it to replace the butter?

    Reply

  3. Posted by sheila's ditsi on December 8, 2009 at 5:14 am

    another thing, you can always use my new oven if you need 🙂

    Reply

  4. replacing olive oil from butter will give you the same calories 😀 you can’t replace the flavor of butter but yes, you may replace it but the end product is not the same 😦 for one, there is no substitute with the flavor of butter! Lastly, how come your name is ‘sheila’s ditsi’? lolz!

    Reply

  5. […] about it or you don’t have any idea what it is, you can find the quick vegetable stock here or […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

